Five State Regions

The Louisiana Regional Folklife Program is a cooperative endeavor between Louisiana universities and the Louisiana Folklife Program within the Division of the Arts. The primary goal of the regional program is to provide in-depth documentation of Louisiana's folk traditions and to facilitate their appropriate use by the public and cultural tourism. Through grants to the universities, the Division of the Arts provides funds for a folklorist in each section of the state. The folklorists have the following mission:

The Louisiana Regional Folklife Program divides the state into five regions based on cultural and geographic factors.

Region 1 - The Upper Louisiana Delta and the North Central Hill Country

Region 2 - Louisiana Red River Valley and the Neutral Strip

Region 3 - Western Acadiana

Region 4 - Louisiana's Florida Parishes, Mississippi River Road and Eastern Acadiana

Region 5 - The Greater New Orleans